Join us on Facebook

Watch the Opening of Garena Premier League 2012 Season

posted 5 years, 4 months ago by Kaiokhen   



The Garena Premier League – Asia’s first regional, fully professional League of Legends eSports league – unleashes a new season of excitement this weekend at their opening ceremony and tournament. You heard that right: GPL has their own opening ceremony! Six teams –representing Taiwan, Singapore, Vietnam, Thailand, Malaysia and the Philippines – will be participating in the festivities being held in Taipei, Taiwan on May 5th. The participating teams are:

The tournament kicks off a 20-week season, with each team playing two games per week. The top three finishers enter the grand finals to fight for the chance to be crowned season champion. There’s $40,000 at stake throughout the season, so you know these teams will give it everything they have!

As for the opening tournament itself, a $6,000 prize pool awaits the top three finishers of the tournament, including $3,000 for the winners. They’ll be joined by Rioters Nikasaur, Lyte, Ryze, and RiotRedBeard who will appear live on-site to kick off the season. The tournament format will follow a best-of-one round-robin, with two pools of three teams duking it out for supremacy. The top two teams in each pool advance to a single-elimination bracket to determine the final champion. To find out more about GPL, check out their website.

You can check out the opening ceremonies and tournament live on Garena’s live-stream channel. Check out the schedule below and don’t forget to tune in!

Friday, May 4th

  • 6:20 PM Pacific - Flag Raising Ceremony

  • 8:00 PM – 12:00 AM Pacific - Round-Robin Matches

Saturday, May 5th 

  • 12:50 AM Pacific - Semi-Final Matches

  • 2:00 AM Pacific - 3rd Place Match

  • 3:10 AM Pacific - Championship Match

  • 4:10 AM Pacific - Prize Presentation